This is simple to put together with ingredients that I usually have around the house. I used tamari soy sauce to keep it gluten free. I like the idea of a Worcestershire that is fish free too. The only thing iI didn’t care for was the cinnamon. I thought that was too evident. I ended up making a second batch without the cinnamon completely and I liked that so I mixed them together. This was better for me. I also added a bit of tapioca powder to help it thicken.
This is definitely a sauce to keep handy.This is simple to put together with ingredients that I usually have around the house. I used tamari soy sauce to keep it gluten free. I like the idea of a Worcestershire that is fish free too. The only thing iI didn’t care for was the cinnamon. I thought that was too evident. I ended up making a second batch without the cinnamon completely and I liked that so I mixed them together. This was better for me. I also added a bit of tapioca powder to help it thicken. This is definitely a sauce to keep handy.
What Is Worcestershire Sauce?
Worcestershire sauce is a fermented condiment made from a base of vinegar and flavored with anchovies, molasses, tamarind, onion, garlic, and other seasonings. The flavor is savory and sweet with a distinct tang provided by the vinegar. The most common form of Worcestershire sauce is not appropriate for a vegetarian or vegan diet and cannot be used in a kosher meal that includes meat. Depending on the brand, it may or may not be gluten-free.
Varieties of Worcestershire Sauce
The best way to discover your favorite Worcestershire sauce is to sample an assortment of brands and varieties. You can also experiment by adding it to recipes whenever you cook with other savory sauces like soy, oyster, or fish sauce.
- Gluten-free Worcestershire: The popularity of gluten-free diets may be one reason that the U.S. version of Worcestershire sauce is made with distilled white vinegar rather than malt vinegar, which contains gluten. To be sure your Worcestershire sauce is gluten-free, check the label.
- Vegetarian or Vegan Worcestershire Sauce: The anchovies in the original recipe for Worcestershire sauce are eliminated for vegan or vegetarian versions. This will usually be prominently displayed on the label.
- Low Sodium: Lea & Perrins and some other brands produce versions lower in sodium for those on a low-sodium diet or who simply don’t like things as salty.
What Is It Made Of?
Vinegar leads the ingredient list and is included both for the tangy flavor and to preserve the other components of Worcestershire sauce. Anchovies add umami (savoriness). The ingredient that gives Worcestershire sauce its unique flavor is tamarind, the fruit of Tamarindus indica, or Indian date in Arabic. The pods, somewhat resembling a brown pea pod, contain a thick, sticky pulp which has a consistency of dates and a spicy date-apricot flavor. Ingredients for U.S. version of The Original Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce include:
- Distilled white vinegar
- Chili pepper extract
- Natural flavorings
- Tamarind extract
Interestingly, the version of Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce sold in the U.S. differs from the U.K. recipe. It uses distilled white vinegar rather than malt vinegar. In addition, it has three times as much sugar and sodium. This makes the American version sweeter and saltier than the version sold in Britain and Canada.
How To Make Worcestershire Sauce
- 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
- 2 tablespoons water
- 2 tablespoons soy sauce
- 1 tablespoon brown sugar
- 1 teaspoon mustard powder
- 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
- 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
- 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
- ground black pepper to taste
Combine apple cider vinegar, water, soy sauce, brown sugar, mustard powder, onion powder, garlic powder, ground cinnamon, and black pepper together in a saucepan; bring to a boil and cook until fragrant, about 45 seconds. Cool to room temperature.